merchant:console:users

Merchant Console User Settings

Through the User Settings page you can control how many users are permitted to process transactions, close batches, and print reports.

The Master Account

A Master (or Primary) Account has access to all aspects of the Merchant Console including the ability to unlock credit card numbers, view all types of reports, and make changes to the Console Settings. While it is possible to have more than one Master Account, we recommend that you maintain only one per merchant and create separate accounts for other users that do not include all of the privileges of the Master Account.

Adding a User

Click the Add User button at the bottom of the screen. On the Add User page you will be asked to enter a username and password for the new user as well as set the user's permissions and establish a start page for the new user. Depending of what you want the new user to be able to do in the console, you can set any or all of the options on the right hand side of the screen.

We recommend that users be allowed only the permissions that they need, for example, you can set the new user's account so that he or she can perform only sale functions, or you can allow them to also make voids and close batches.

Please Note: All users must change their password once every 90 days. If you do not give a user permission to change their password, they will still be able to change their password if it has expired. To avoid this, make sure to change their password at least once every 90 days.

Editing a User

You can always edit a user account by clicking on the Edit button to the right of their username. You will be able to change any of the user's permissions and their start page as well as limiting the number of IP addresses from which they can log in.

Please note that you cannot change a user's password from this screen. To change a user's password you must use the Change Password link. (see below)

Changing a User's Password

Any user with a Master Account can change a user's password at any time by simply clicking on the “Change Password” button and entering the new password twice.

Due to Visa/MasterCard regulations, all account passwords must conform to the following guidelines:

  • Must be at least 8 characters long.
  • Must include at least one letter and one number.
  • Cannot be the same as any of the previous 4 passwords used.
  • Must be changed at least once every 90 days.

Deleting a User

You can delete a user at any time by clocking on the Delete button to the right of their username. A dialog screen will ask you to confirm this decision. Once you have deleted the user, all of their login information including password, permissions and history will be gone forever.

Please note that deleting a Master Account without first assigning a new Master Account may cause problems in the system. Please make sure that you have a new Master Account set up before deleting your existing Master Account.

Restricting IP Access

When adding a new user or when editing an existing user account, you can select specific IP addresses from which the user can access the system and conduct transactions.

In the box below the username and start page menu, enter the IP addresses from which the user will be permitted to access the system. To allow a user to access the system from any IP address, leave the space empty. Your current IP address will appear below the text to the left of the box.

User Permissions

To determine which functions a user can perform, set the user permissions on the right hand side of the Edit User screen.

If the user has a master account, simply check the Master box at the top. This will allow the user to perform all functions associated with your account, including issuing credits and voids, settling batches and viewing transaction details.

Alternatively you can restrict the types of functions a user can perform by selecting on certain boxes within the user permissions settings. For example, to allow a user to process sale transactions, voids and auth-onlies, but not settle batches, or issue refunds, simply check the boxes beside the permissions you want that user to have.

Permission Description
Master Account (full access) Allow user to have permission for all account functions.
Virtual Terminal Allow user to perform all functions within the virtual terminal, including sale, checks, void, auth-only, credit, and postauth
Sale Allow user to process sale transactions.
Checks Allow user to process electronic check transactions.
Void Allow user to void transactions that have not been settled.
Credit Allow user to issue credits.
Auth-Only Allow user to process auth-only (authorization only) transactions.
Postauth Allow user to process transactions requiring post authorization.
Sale Form Allow user to process transactions using the Sale Form.
Recurring Billing Allow user to perform all functions within the Recurring Billing Database including create, edit and delete customer accounts.
Create Allow user to create customer accounts with recurring billing cycles.
Edit Allow user to edit customers in the recurring billing database.
Delete Allow user to delete customer record from the database.
VTerm Allow user to process transactions from the vTerminal within the Customer Database.
Batch Manager Allow user to perform all functions within the batch manager, including close batches, issue voids and credits, view transaction details and use the quick sale and quick credit functions.
Close Batches Allow user to close batches.
Void/Credit/Queue Allow user to issue voids and credits and move transactions out of the batch and into the queued transactions
Transaction Details Allow user to view transaction details. Please note: Only users with Master Merchant Accounts and passwords can view full credit card data.
Quick Sale Allow user to process sale transactions via the quick sale box on the transaction details page.
Quick Credit Allow user to process credit transactions via the quick credit box on the transaction details page.
Queued Transactions Allow user to view and post queued transactions from the Queued Transactions screen.
Check Manager Allow user to perform all functions from within the Check Manager including view transaction details, and issue voids and refunds.
Transaction Details Allow user to view transaction details for transactions in the check manager.
Upload Manager Allow user to perform all functions within the Upload Manager including pause, delete and export uploaded batches.
Reports Allow user to perform all functions in the reports section including view, export and print reports and create new custom reports.
Search Allow user to use the search function.
Allow Password Change* Allow user to change their own password. *Please Note: All users must change their password once every 90 days. If you do not give a user permission to change their password, they will still be able to change their password if it has expired. To avoid this, make sure to change their password once per 90 days.
merchant/console/users.txt · Last modified: 2009/07/16 10:01 by nell

Page Tools